Ray Kurzweil to be interviewed on SXSW LIVE on Tuesday, March 13

Ray Kurzweil will be featured in a video interview on SXSW LIVE on Tuesday, March 13 at 5:30 PM (CDT) (6:30 PM EDT/3:30 PM PDT) at the SXSW conference in Austin, Texas.

Kurzweil on the power of ideas

Earlier on Tuesday, March 13, 2018, in a non-televised talk that’s open to all SXSW attendees, Ray Kurzweil will also be interviewed by Mashable’s Jessica Coen at 3:30 pm–4:30 PM (CDT) (5:30–6:30 PM EDT/2:30–3:30 PM PDT).

Join Ray Kurzweil and Mashable’s Jessica Coen for a conversation about the rapidly moving frontier of artificial intelligence — the implications and possibilities. Kurzweil predicts that by 2029, artificial intelligence will pass the Turing Test, meaning it will match (and exceed) human intelligence in every area.

Progress is already at a steep part of the exponential curve and Kurzweil believes his prediction is, if anything, conservative. He sees this not as an alien invasion of intelligent machines but rather as an ultimate tool to extend our own reach. Essentially, we will use AI to intensify human intelligence in the way that a lens can intensify the power of the Sun. Ultimately, this new form of hybrid intelligence will enable us to solve humanity’s grandest challenges.

 

Source: KurzweilAI